

# New Zealand Bowhunters Society

# Game Trophy Results 2023

## Bowhunter of the Year:

## Sarah Thoroughgood

(Note: RDE = Red Deer Equivalent, DS – Douglas Score)

Kevin Williamson Trophy: Junior Bowhunter of the year

1 <sup>st</sup>	Mitchell Hansen	21 pts
2 <sup>nd</sup>	Cooper Hansen	20
3 <sup>rd</sup>	John Hardy	16

#### Ingerson Shield: Best Deer

1 <sup>st</sup>	Liam Burt	Fallow deer	383.66 RDE
2 <sup>nd</sup>	Simon Bullivant	Red deer	323.38 RDE
3 <sup>rd</sup>	Cody Weller	Red deer	266.75 RDE

## Wakefield Cup: Best Deer, 2<sup>nd</sup> place

Simon Bullivant	Red deer	323.38 RDE
-----------------	----------	------------

#### Department of Conservation Shield: Best Deer shot on DOC land

1 <sup>st</sup>	Cody Weller	Red deer	266.75 RDE
2 <sup>nd</sup>	Paul Huxtable	Red deer	263.63 RDE
3 <sup>rd</sup>	Kevin Duncan	Red deer	210.00 RDE

## Red Stag Trophy: Best Red Stag

1 <sup>st</sup>	Simon Bullivant	323 ¾ DS pts
2 <sup>nd</sup>	Cody Weller	266 ¾ DS pts
3 <sup>rd</sup>	Paul Huxtable	263 ¾ DS pts

## Norman Douglas Memorial Trophy: Best Fallow Buck

	1 <sup>st</sup>	Liam Burt	252 1/8 DS pts
--	-----------------	-----------	----------------

## Ossie Seccombe Trophy: Best Pig

1 <sup>st</sup>	Gary Duncan	23 ¼ DS pts
2 <sup>nd</sup>	John Blair	21 ¾ DS pts

#### Mountain Trophy: Best Tahr or Chamois

1 <sup>st</sup>	Cody Weller	Chamois	313.77 RDE
2 <sup>nd</sup>	Gary Johnson	Tahr	273.90 RDE
3 <sup>rd</sup>	John Blair	Tahr	254.88 RDE

#### Les Hart Shield: Best Goat

1 <sup>st</sup>	Philip Bullivant	105 ¼ DS pts
2 <sup>nd</sup>	Jason Sime	103 ¼ DS pts
3 <sup>rd</sup>	Sarah Thoroughgood	96 1/8 DS pts

## Gary Cryer Memorial Trophy: Most deer.

1 <sup>st</sup>	Gary Johnson	9 deer
2 <sup>nd</sup>	Brad Hill	8 (5 species)
3 <sup>rd</sup>	Sarah Thoroughgood	8 (3 species)

## Sayer-Webster Trophy: Most points for big game.

1 <sup>st</sup>	Sarah Thoroughgood	164 pts
2 <sup>nd</sup>	Gary Johnson	100
3 <sup>rd</sup>	Brad Hill	93

## Steve Boyd Trophy: Most big game species

1 <sup>st</sup>	Sarah Thoroughgood	8 species
2 <sup>nd</sup>	Brad Hill	7 (48 pts)
3 <sup>rd</sup>	Bob Gow	7 (33 pts)

## Reuben Mills Trophy: Most small game species

1 <sup>st</sup>	Bob Gow	22 species
2 <sup>nd</sup>	Charlie Huxtable	16
3 <sup>rd</sup>	James Sullivan	15

## Henwood Small Game Trophy: Most small game points

1 <sup>st</sup> =	John Hardy	310 pts
1 <sup>st</sup> =	Sarah Thoroughgood	310

3<sup>rd</sup> Mitchell Hansen 117

### Bruce Fletcher Fish Trophy: Most fish points

1 <sup>st</sup>	Bob Gow	259 pts
2 <sup>nd</sup>	Gary Keoghan	159
3 <sup>rd</sup>	James Sullivan	149

**Tiger Lochhead Trophy** – for Literary Achievement

1 <sup>st</sup>	Gary Johnson	'The best 4x4 Tahr'
2 <sup>nd</sup>	Sarah Thoroughgood	'Hunting Hi-viz deer'
3 <sup>rd</sup>	Mikayla Taylor	'Mikayla's Story'

**Egmont Trophy**: Pictorial photo taken in a hunting situation

1 <sup>st</sup>	Gary Johnson	'Mountain Camp'
2 <sup>nd</sup>	Gary Johnson	'Waterfall Climb'
3 <sup>rd</sup>	John Blair	'Mountain river valley'

### Cambridge & Buddle Shield: Wildlife photo taken in a hunting situation

1 <sup>st</sup>	Rory O'Brien	'Rusa Spiker'
2 <sup>nd</sup>	Sarah Thoroughgood	'Tahr''
3 <sup>rd</sup>	Rory O'Brien	'Mum and Young'

#### Len Purser Trophy: Best photo of bow shot game

1 <sup>st</sup>	Sarah Thoroughgood	'Sika'
2 <sup>nd</sup>	Gary Johnson	'Tahr'
3 <sup>rd</sup>	Becky Thoroughgood	'Journey to Master Bowhunter'

#### Lance Henwood Trophy: Best Skin

1 <sup>st</sup>	Sarah Thoroughgood	Tahr skin
2 <sup>nd</sup>	Sarah Thoroughgood	Chamois skin
3 <sup>rd=</sup>	Bob Gow	Sika skin
3 <sup>rd=</sup>	Sarah Thoroughgood	Fallow skin

### Norman Taylor Roaring Shield: Men's Deer Roaring

1 <sup>st</sup>	Cody	Weller
-----------------	------	--------

- 2<sup>nd</sup> 3<sup>rd</sup> Graeme Warrender
- Dean Albiston

## Pine Ridge Shield: Ladies Deer Roaring

- 1<sup>st</sup> Samantha Weller
- 2<sup>nd</sup> Becky Thoroughgood

## Junior Roaring Trophy: Junior Deer Roaring

No entries