How the awards work

To become a Master Bowhunter the bowhuntermasterbowhunter_award_glass must achieve “5 Small Game Awards” and “5 Big Game Awards”. The five Big Game Awards are achieved when the bowhunter takes 5 different Big Game species from the New Zealand Bowhunters Society (NZBS) Big Game list.

Big Game Species Point Allocation:
Animal Points
Chamois 10
Rusa Deer 10
Sambar Deer 10
Tahr 10
NZ Wapiti Deer 8
Sika Deer 6
Whitetail Deer 6
Fallow Deer 5
Red Deer 5
Pig (dressed weight 15kg or greater) 5
Kingfish (15kg or greater) 4
South Island Wallaby 2
Stingray (20kg or greater) 1
Wallaby 1
Tiger Sharks (20kg or greater) 7
Blue Sharks (20kg or greater) 3
School & Seven Gilled Sharks (20kg or greater) 3
All other sharks (20kg or greater) 5

Note: Game taken with the aid of artificial light is not eligible as Big Game

The 5 Small Game Awards are achieved when the bowhunter takes 5 small game awards. Each Small Game taken is rewarded with a point value. An accumulation of small game points goes toward the award. Each Small Game Award requires an increasing accumulation of points. Only 20 points from any one species may be included for an individual award. Excess points from each Award can be carried over to the next award. The New Zealand Bowhunters Society currently has 115 Master Bowhunters.

Award Colour Points
First Small Game Award White 20 points
Second Small Game Award Black additional 30 points
Third Small Game Award Blue additional 50 points
Fourth Small Game Award Red additional 70 points
Fifth Small Game Award Gold additional 100 points
Small Game Species Point Allocation
Mammal / Marsupial Points
Pig under 15kg 10
Ferret 8
Stoat 8
Weasel 8
Goat 5
Hare 5
Wallaby* 5
Rabbit 2
Possum 1
Rat 1

*Denotes use of artifical light

Bird Points
Rook 5
Magpie 5
Peacock 5
Myna 2
Turkey 2
Fish Points Fish Points
Kingfish (under 15kg) 10 Dogfish 8
Shark (under 20kg) 10 Snapper 8
Kahawai 8 Grass Carp 5
Stingray (under 20kg) 5 John Dory 3
Barracuda 4 Trevally 3
Mullet 3 Butterfish 2
Blue Cod 2 Mackerel 2
Kelp Fish 2 Koi Carp 1
Parore 2 Octopus 1
Flounder 1 Eel 1
Sole 1 Any other fish 1

Note: NZ Fisheries bag and size limits apply at all times.  Please check the recreational fishing rules here.  Additionally minimum length for fish is 250 mm.

Advanced Small Game Awards

The Advanced Small Game Award system is designed to provide further challenges for those bowhunters who have gained their 5th Small Game Award. The emphasis is on shooting a listed variety of game but only one of each species listed needs to be taken.

The Awards Are:

animal Animal
One each of Small Game Pig, Small Game Wallaby, Goat-minimum horn spread of 760mm (30inches) , Hare, Rabbit, Possum, Rat, and any one of Ferret, Weasel, Stoat. A total of eight animals.

advanced_bird_award Bird
One each of Turkey, Magpie & Myna, plus one of either a Crow or Peacock. A total of four birds.

advanced_fish-award Fish
One each of Small Game Stingray, Eel- minimum weight 5kg, Mullet, Parore, Flounder and any five of the following species: Small Game Shark, Kingfish, Kahawai, Snapper, John Dory, Butterfish, Octopus, Carp, Blue Code, Dogfish, Trevally, Mackerel, and Barracuda. (Any other species of fish claimed which the committee consider merits inclusion will be added to this section.) A total of ten fish.

Advanced Big Game Awards

The Advanced Big Game Award system is designed to provide further challenges for those bowhunters who have gained their Master Bowhunter Award.